Facebook

How do I register a boat?


New registration must be done at the Town Office. 


Re-registrations may be done at the Town Office or online by clicking here.

For new registrations, you will need:
- bill of sale
- the Maine registration numbers on the boat if the boat was ever registered in Maine
- state sales tax on the purchase price if it was a private sale. (For dealer sales, sales tax is collected at the time of sale.)
- excise tax, which is computed on the boat's age, length and engine horsepower.
- state registration fee, which is based on the engine horsepower
- agent fee of $1.00
- milfoil sticker ($10.00 for residents; $20.00 for non-residents) for all boats used in fresh water.

For renewal registrations you will need:
- copy of the prior registration, or the Maine registration numbers on the boat
- excise tax, which is computed on the boat's age, length and engine horsepower.
- state registration fee, which is based on the engine horsepower
- agent fee of $1.00
- milfoil sticker ($10.00 for residents; $20.00 for non-residents) for all boats used in fresh water.

All boat registrations expire on December 31.

Maine Boating Laws and Responsibilities

Official Website of Hope, Maine